barefoottc

my running adventures – barefoot or otherwise

Boston Marathon aftermath – heartwarming support and defiant resolve

Run for Boston

Run for Boston

Waves of utter disbelief and anger still hit me days after the Boston Marathon explosions and I keep checking news websites to see what leads have been found in order to find the culprits of these cowardly and sickening acts.

While I try to control my emotions, what encourages me time and again is the amazing resolve of the human spirit to come together following times of pain and unexpected terror to be strong and to help others be strong when they are at their most vulnerable. An eight year old died because of these actions. I can’t grasp the awful pain and anguish that boy’s family must be going through. I hope and pray they have amazing friends and family that can comfort them in this difficult time, and help them to rise again from the clutches of despair they must be wrestling with right now.

I’ve heard of the 30 seconds silence that will be taken at the beginning of the London Marathon on Sunday in honour and support of the Boston Marathon explosion victims and taking that stand makes me feel proud to be a part of the amazing, global running community. Check out the link to the BBC article here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-22168556

I’ve also seen others’ blogs that point to a campaign encouraging runners in the London Marathon to cross the finish line with their hands over their heart as a defiant symbol of their support and togetherness with those who endured the explosions in Boston. Appparently, check out on twitter, #handsoverhearts (source: http://ratherberunnin.com/2013/04/16/lets-run-for-boston/ – it’s a great, regularly updated blog, so go check it out as well as mine!)

I’ve run for Boston once this week and plan to keep it at the forefront of my thoughts when I run next on Thursday afternoon too. My run can be seen here: http://app.strava.com/activities/49046178. It seemed appropriate that I ran hard carrying a weight on my shoulders, almost symbolic in a ridiculously small way, of the burden that people will be carrying in the aftermath of this tragedy.

Next time you go out running, why don’t you too keep those people in Boston in your mind and those of you who are inclined, like me, pray for all those affected by what happened there.

Boston is one of the marathons on my bucket list (as I imagine it is for every long distance runner, though I haven’t yet done one marathon to date). London is in my sights for next year, if I’m lucky enough to get in, but NYC and Boston, as well as Berlin, are marathons I’d love to run. This incident has just added fuel to my desire to run, not just in the above races listed, but generally. Running is freedom to me, and I won’t let anyone take that away from me.

Run and be proud, barefoottc

4 comments on “Boston Marathon aftermath – heartwarming support and defiant resolve

  1. ratherberunnin
    April 17, 2013

    Thank you so much for mentioning me in your post. I can’t tell you how special that makes me feel. We are all in this together… we were all hurt together and we will all run together. This is precisely what makes runners such a special group of people. 🙂

    • barefoottc
      April 18, 2013

      Yeah, I completely agree. The running community is a special group of people and I love that I can be part of it, without any qualification other than that I run.

  2. Alissa
    April 17, 2013

    I was stunned when I heard about Boston, and the only thing I could think to do – despite eight inches of snow on the ground – was go out for a run. (http://alissadale.wordpress.com/2013/04/15/run-for-boston/) It warms my heart to see that’s how so many other runners elected to respond as well.

    • barefoottc
      April 18, 2013

      That’s amazing you ran in such a lot of snow…and uphill…four times! I’ve been so struck by people’s responses to the Boston tragedy. It warms my heart too and reassures me that despite so much evil in the world, there is way more good going on!

Leave a Reply

