barefoottc

my running adventures – barefoot or otherwise

My Summer Cycling Tour of the UK!

The bike made it all the way to Cleethorpes and Ely...and will hopefully get to Bristol too!

The bike made it all the way to Cleethorpes and Ely…and will hopefully get to Bristol too!

It has been a while, but I hope you excuse me, as the family and I have been on our travels around the country visiting family!

In a previous post, I explained how the Tour de France had inspired me to get out on my bike a bit more, and with more time, I could venture farther and ride for longer.

So far, I’ve managed three ‘Stages’ of my very own Tour de l’Angeleterre (apologies if that is incorrect French!).

Stage 1 can be found here: http://www.strava.com/activities/69387129

This was my first longer ride in a while near my home in Nottingham.

Stage 2: http://www.strava.com/activities/71091232

This was my first venture out into the unknown, around the locality of where my mum and stepdad live in Cleethorpes. North East Lincolnshire is a beautiful place for a ride!

Stage 3: http://www.strava.com/activities/72538010

This was a flat, flat, flat ride in the Fens of Cambridgeshire, where my family and I were taking advantage of being allowed to housesit for the in-laws for a few days. Beautiful scenery again, for as far as the eye could see due to the amazing flatness of the land!

Plans for the next few weeks?

I’m hoping to do a route in a few days down near Bristol, where we’re visiting relatives, and then it’ll be back home for alternative routes from my home around Nottinghamshire, until I go back to work in early September.

I’ve also stumbled across a Duathlon (4km run, 14km ride, 2km run) which is happening in October and is something I might try to enter. Look at me, diversifying out of running!

It’s all good fitness, and the advantage for cycling for me, is that you can explore a wider area in quicker time. However, I am looking forward to increasing my mileage now that my calf injury seems to have subsided.

Do you ride much as part of your overall fitness regime?

What are your favourite routes?

Do you prefer to stick to just running?

2 comments on “My Summer Cycling Tour of the UK!

  1. Teresa
    August 7, 2013

    Oh goodness ~ your rides sound wonderful!! I bet your weather is fabulous too. We are baking here in Texas right now and between the heat and tendinitis in my hip I’ve been trying to diversify some, too. Bike riding, kickboxing and tennis have been on my agenda. But I’m looking forward to getting back to some running very soon. Your duathlon sounds very intriguing!

    • barefoottc
      August 9, 2013

      Hi Teresa, thanks for reading my blog! Looking forward to my ride and run in Bristol over the next few days. Hope your tendinitis improves – great ideas for diversifying into other sports. I haven’t tried kickboxing, but you never know! The duathlon sounds interesting…a 4km run, 14km ride and then 2km run…I’ll keep you posted on my training!

Leave a Reply

