barefoottc

my running adventures – barefoot or otherwise

Running Review of 2013

Running Review of 2013!

Putting it in throughout 2013!

Putting it in throughout 2013!

Well, here it is! My first blog post in ages, and a review of my running year!

Below is a table of the races I’ve competed in, along with all the important stats! You’ll see that blog posts that relate to these events have been hyperlinked for your viewing pleasure! (NB: The Notts 10 mile went so well for me that I took three blog posts to write about the whole process!)

Date Event Distance Time Placing Any other info
24/2/13 Belvoir Challenge 15 miles 1:51:27 11th out of 684 Cross country terrain, undulating
31/3/13 Ely to Cambridge City to City river run 16.5 miles 1:46:51 3rd out of 79 (The top 3 finishers broke the previous years’ course record!)
6/4/13 Rushcliffe parkrun 5k 18:22 3rd out of 85  Gravel track surface
1/6/13 Rushcliffe parkrun 5k 17:35 (PB!) 2nd out of 129 Beaten by a dog dragging his owner round!
7/6/13 Notts 10 mile road race 10 miles 59:29 (including a race PB of 36:57 for 10k) 7th out of 359  Road surface
15/6/13 Rushcliffe parkrun 5K 17:27 (PB!) 2nd out of 148
22/6/13 Colwick parkrun 5k 17:47 1st out of 168 The first race I’ve ever won!!
2/8/13 Jagermeister 10k 10k 38:56 15th out of 408 First proper ‘run’ after injury – well surprised with my time!
29/9/13 Robin Hood Half Marathon 13.1 miles 1:31:44 306th out of 6590 Bum race…ran when I was ill, silly boy!
2/11/13 Forest Rec parkrun 5k 18:36 3rd out of 64  Hilliest parkrun I’ve yet run!

If any of you have the time, you could probably calculate all sorts of stats about these numbers. And if you have, I’d love a copy of them!

What I’m most pleased with this year, in terms of running:

  1. Changing my running technique and seeing the benefits in terms of injury-freeness (only one injury this year that has prevented me from running) and speed (I can now run sub 6:30 mile pace pretty comfortably, even up to Half Marathon pace)
  2. Running the 10 mile race inside an hour. My best performance in a race this year.
  3. Winning a race! After trying to win an event for a while, I finally achieved it at Colwick parkrun. Mentally, a big barrier to break!
  4. Becoming a Strava Run ambassador – what a cool perk and responsibility! While it is only for a year, I’ve really enjoyed the status, and it has definitely helped me to raise my game as a runner.
  5. Reaching the milestone of running 1000km in 2013. It wasn’t a goal until I realised I was in with a shout of getting there, and then I worked to achieve it!
  6. The running-related purchases I’ve made of Nike Free trainers (luminous yellow!), Karrimor running tights and, my Christmas present this year that I really hope will prove to be a super purchase – a Garmin Forerunner 210 running watch (so excited to start using it!!)
  7. Immersing myself fully in Running literature to keep me inspired (Running with the Kenyans, Born to Run, What I talk about when I talk about Running, Seb Coe autobiography, Barefoot Running step by step, The Art of Running Faster, Keep on Running – the highs and lows of a marathon addict…)
  8. Trying out barefoot running!
TC's Christmas Pressie 2013...so excited to start using it!!

TC’s Christmas Pressie 2013…so excited to start using it!!

How has your running year 2013 been? What have been your highlights?

OK, next up – a look to 2014 in terms of my running goals, both realistic and less so!

Leave a Reply

