barefoottc

my running adventures – barefoot or otherwise

What I’d listen to, if I listened to music while running!

I really do love music from the 1990s!

I really do love music from the 1990s!

On Strava, the app and website that I use to log and analyse all my runs and rides, I’ve been trying to dream up more interesting titles for each activity and have come up with a little project…

#90sTuneStreak!

I’ve decided that over the next 26 runs/rides, I’m going to name each one after a band and one of their songs that I really enjoyed during the 1990s – the Golden era of my teenagehood! I’m going to try and get through the entire alphabet (hence 26). This might seem strange, given that I’ve previously stated I don’t like listening to music while I run or ride, but given my passion for music, maybe it isn’t so odd.

So far, I’ve done two activities, named as:

Ash – Goldfinger. Check it out here: http://www.strava.com/activities/111687536

Blur – Tracy Jacks / Ben Folds Five – Army. Check it out here: http://www.strava.com/activities/111750140

I already know what ‘C’ is going to be (but you’ll have to wait and see what that is. Sadly, I have manflu right now though – worst thing in the entire world), but I’d love to hear some of your favourite tunes (for running to, or otherwise!) from the 1990s!

What songs do you love from the 1990s?

What songs from the 1990s float your boat in terms of running along to?

Do you listen to music while you run or ride?

Hopefully future posts will provide you with some running inspiration and/or musical nostalgia for you to enjoy!

12 comments on “What I’d listen to, if I listened to music while running!

  1. chococatania
    February 11, 2014

    Some of my favorite songs from the nineties to run to are:
    Zoo Station (U2, Achtung Baby); In Bloom (Nirvana, Nevermind); No Aloha (The Breeders), and Surf Wax America (Weezer, Blue album)

    • barefoottc
      February 12, 2014

      Thanks for the recommendations! Love In Bloom and Buddy Holly by Weezer. I’ll check out Surf Wax America, thanks!

  2. The Running Schlub
    February 11, 2014

    I always listen to music when I run. I am still a huge fan of some of the 90’s rock music. Guns N Roses, Metallica, STP, Red Hot Chili Peppers, I could go on and on LOL

    • barefoottc
      February 12, 2014

      Haha! I know what you mean…nostalgia is great! Im with you on the RHCPs and GnR…never got into Metallica or STPs to be honest!

  3. irishrunnerchick
    February 11, 2014

    I only listen to music when I’m running in the gym and I switch it to Pandora’s 80s cardio mix. It definitely gets me pumped up.

  4. bayrunnerjamie
    February 11, 2014

    I love this! I still listen to 90s music, some of the earlier stuff is now on the classic rock stations and I can’t believe it! I’ve always been a huge fan of No Doubt, Red Hot Chili Peppers, and Weezer 🙂

  5. PNWRunner
    February 12, 2014

    Yes I have to listen to music while running or cycling! Totally keeps me going and energized!

    • barefoottc
      February 12, 2014

      Thanks for sharing! Any particular tunes that you just couldnt be without?!

      • PNWRunner
        February 12, 2014

        Most likely edm! Gets me going on a quick pace!

  6. llyjb7
    February 18, 2014

    Manic Street Preachers – Motorcycle Emptiness. It’s not fast, but it’s an epic for a longer run.

    • barefoottc
      February 19, 2014

      Great tune! Completely agree with you, one of my favourites too!! I also like ‘you stole the sun from my heart’ by the manics too. I remember buying the CD single!

Leave a Reply

