barefoottc

my running adventures – barefoot or otherwise

All about my recent #90sTuneStreak AND a final plea to vote for my blog in the Running Awards 2014

I really do love music from the 1990s!

I really do love music from the 1990s!

With just days left of voting until the Running Awards 2014 deadline closes, this post is more than just a timely reminder to please vote for my blog!

Rather than a last-ditch desperate attempt to persuade you to vote, I thought I’d give you a flavour of what this blog is all about, i.e. fun, learning about myself and why I’m such a stubborn/self-motivated individual, connecting with like-minded athletes (yes, I mean you too!) and charting my running and riding successes and #epicfail(s).

Then, at the end of this blog post, I’ll hit you with the ‘voting is as easy as 1-2-3, vote for me’ pitch! So, without further ado, onwards to my rundown of my recent #90sTuneStreak of running and riding activities.

I can’t remember when I got the inspiration for this from, but essentially, I wanted to ‘name’ my activities on Strava with titles more memorable than ‘morning commute’ or ‘evening ride.’ I’m now riding on the crest of a #plankfilmstreak, but there’s a whole new blog post on that to come!

So, in thinking of a theme for naming such activities, I could think of nothing better than to unwrap a whole treasure chest full of nostalgia and share with the world the kind of music I loved growing up as a teenager in the 1990s (hence the title, #90sTuneStreak).

I hope you love the tracks listed as much as I do. While I’m not going to bore you with the many different memories that each track provokes in me (there’ll be time for that on some TV interview show when I’m famous), I do hope that you might feel prompted to share which tracks I have listed here that bring back memories for you; hopefully they’ll be positive ones!

Here goes:

Ash – Goldfinger (Check it out: http://www.strava.com/activities/111687536)
Blur – Tracy Jacks / Ben Folds Five – Brick
Cornershop – Brimful of Asha
Daniel Bedingfield – I gotta get thru this
Eels – Novocaine for the soul
Finlay Quaye – Sun is Shining
Gabrielle – Dreams (Check it out: http://www.strava.com/activities/116559047)
Hootie & the Blowfish – I only wanna be with you
Imbruglia, Natalie – Torn (editorial license applied!)
James – Laid
Kci & Jojo – Lately (Chek it out: http://www.strava.com/activities/118295581)
Lemonheads – If I could talk I’d tell you
Mavericks, The – I just wanna dance the night away
Nirvana – In bloom
Oasis – Acquiesce
Presidents of the United States of America – Peaches
Q – none
Roxette – Fading like a flower
Skunk Anansie – Hedonism (Acoustic version)
Texas – Say what you want
Usher – You make me wanna & U2 – With or without you
Verve, The – Sonnet
Weezer – Buddy Holly
X – none
Y – none
Z – none

While I have posted all of these on Strava, I don’t think it sensible, or worthwhile to post links to all the activites, so I just picked out a few based on the introduction to the challenge, and a couple of runs I tried particularly hard on, in various ways. Of course, if you follow me on Strava, you’ll have seen all of this naming silliness already!

I decided against using the letters Q, X, Y and Z for reasons of musical integrity rather than anything else. I simply couldn’t remember, or find songs or artists that I genuinely liked the music of enough to include it in my personal list. Of course, there were some letters for which I could have featured a number of bands, artists and songs, but that wasn’t really the point.

So, do any of these songs strike a chord with you (pun intended)? Do they stir up memories of other tunes you remember from the 1990s? I’d love to hear your responses, and any other imaginative ways in which you title your activities, whether you use Strava, or another fitness app.

My blog, barefoottc, has been shortlisted in the Blog category!

My blog, barefoottc, has been shortlisted in the Blog category!

The voting pitch

As many of you are probably tired of hearing, this blog has been shortlisted in the 2014 Running Awards which are happening in London on Friday 11th April (yes, this Friday!), two nights before the London Marathon. I’ve taken the decision to go along too, so I’m excited about who I might meet there! Voting closes this Thursday 10th April, at a time I haven’t been able to work out yet, so please…if you haven’t yet voted, and feel that you could spare a couple of minutes of your time to vote for me, given how entertaining you think my blog posts are, then that would be truly awesome!

How to vote

Go to http://therunningawards.com

Register with an email address (purely to enable the organisers to validate your vote, or log-in with the details you used last time), and then navigate through ‘Online’ then ‘Blog’ then click on ‘barefoottc’ to register your vote.

If you haven’t registered before, you need to do that first, and then follow the navigation as mentioned above.

Thank you in advance to all of you who take the time to vote for my blog. It is inspiring to know that people read my blog and feel it is worth voting for in an awards competition.

I’ll keep you posted after Friday to let you know what I thought of the Running Awards ceremony, who I met, and what the food was like! 😉

Also coming up soon on this blog…

Beeston gets it’s very own parkrun!

Everything you need to know to start running

Review of Strava 4.0

#plankfilmstreak review/the story so far!

Oh! I nearly forgot! I’m now on twitter too, so you can follow me there if you like. You’ll find me @barefoottc!

 

 

2 comments on “All about my recent #90sTuneStreak AND a final plea to vote for my blog in the Running Awards 2014

  1. the running schlub
    April 8, 2014

    Just Voted, Keep Up The Great Work And Good Luck.

    • barefoottc
      April 8, 2014

      Hey,

      Thank you so much for the vote, I really do appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

