barefoottc

my running adventures – barefoot or otherwise

Who, What, Where, When, Why, How (of running)!

The Who, What, Where, When, Why, and How of running!

The Who, What, Where, When, Why, and How of running!

Who (do you run with?) – I mostly run on my own (sadly), but I appreciate the time and space this gives me. It also means I get to work on my mental state. I’m accountable only to me (apart from my Strava buddies!), and I am my own worst critic. Running alone makes me try hard.

What (distance do you run?) – I seem to have fallen into being a fairly natural 10k distance runner, as this is the length (give or take a few kilometres) of my commute into work, which is when I do most of my running. I’ve done races of 5k, 10k, Half Marathon, 15 miles and 16 miles. My goal is to run a full marathon, but there is no timescale on that.

Where (do you usually run?) – I usually run on roads, as my running is predominantly commuting from my suburb to the city. My preference? To run on natural terrain, hills, mud, grass.

When (do you usually run / like to run?) – usually in the morning at around 7:00am if I’m running to work. Usually between 5 and 6pm when I’m leaving work. When I’m training, for a half marathon, for example, I’ll often get up early at the weekend for a long run, e.g. leaving about 6am. However, I seem to run my fastest in the early evening.

Why (do you run?) – And this was supposed to be a short blog post! This section could potentially be really long, but I will instead go with brevity. Reasons (in no particular order): to maintain fitness, to run faster, to eat what I enjoy, to enjoy the outdoors, to have some peace and quiet (headspace).

How (did you get into running?) – I got into running because I wanted a cheap, non-time-consuming form of exercise that I could do whenever I had time. With three young children, spending half a day playing football or cricket at the weekend just isn’t realistic at the moment.

I’d love for you to share your Who, What, Where, When, Why, and How of running! Why don’t you ask your blogging friends to consider theirs too?!

Check out my latest run here: http://www.strava.com/activities/116667283

My #90sTuneStreak continues with my latest ride! Check it out here: http://www.strava.com/activities/118142190

Run smooth, and ride safe!

3 comments on “Who, What, Where, When, Why, How (of running)!

  1. The Running Schlub
    March 7, 2014

    Great post, I’ll probably steal this for my blog LOL…

    Who – Run alone, but I’ve been wanting to find a group run.
    What – Been running 5K, but looking at longer runs now.
    Where – Mostly road, with some trail mixed in, started to like trail runs more though.
    When – Usually run in the evening time, long runs on Sunday mornings.
    Why – Fitness, enjoyment, and competition.
    How – Fiance got me started, she started running and I wanted to support her.

    http://runningschlub.blogspot.com/

    • barefoottc
      March 9, 2014

      Thanks The Running Schlub! You’re more than welcome to steal the idea for your blog! Looking forward to reading more responses from fellow runners out there! Do you have any races lined up soon? Parkrun is coming to my ‘hood on April 5th (Beeston), and I can’t wait!

      • The Running Schlub
        March 10, 2014

        Thank you Sir. I would like to run a trail run sometime this month but not sure if I have enough time to train. My Fiance and I are scheduled to run The Pat Tillman run at the end of April.

        http://runningschlub.blogspot.com/

Leave a comment